From au pair in the city to farmer in the outback! - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Mex - WaarBenJij.nu From au pair in the city to farmer in the outback! - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Mex - WaarBenJij.nu

From au pair in the city to farmer in the outback!

Door: Mex

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mex

16 September 2014 | Australië, Sydney

I keep saying it but I just can’t believe how quickly time went by! Looking back at my 6 months au pair adventure in Sydney I surely have no regrets! It has been an amazing time. My host family has been like a real family to me and they didn’t just give me a roof above my head but a home far away from home. My time with them was really special and I am sure I well see them again as soon as I come back to Sydney! I already miss the boys but I have many great memories that I will take with me in my heart.

Besides my time with the family I have done so many fun things and I have met great people! I feel lucky with my boyfriend and I have a few good friends here in Sydney now! The people from church have also been very welcoming and caring. It’s unbelievable how your life can change in such a short time. It has not always been easy but I am so happy and very thankful that I made the choice to take the challenge and see what Australia had to offer me  I wouldn’t have want to miss it.

Soon, very soon, my life will change again! This Thursday morning Leonie and I will leave Sydney to start a new adventure in Australia’s outback. We are going to work on a cattle station in Wharton Creek, in Queensland. We will be working 7 days a week for 88 days in a row! From what we know now is that there are two farms. One with grandma and one with Jack. Leonie and I will stay together with grandma for the first couple of weeks. Cook all the meals, the the household, some gardening and some cattle work. After a few weeks one of us will move to Jacks farm. Jack and grandma are neighbours but still 40 minutes away from each other. They have a 35.000 hectare farm. Half way Leonie and I will swap so we can both stay with Jack and experience the real cattle work. When we stay with Jack we will mainly be outside all day (its already 30 degrees and spring just started). We will be riding quads, trucks, tractors and sometimes fly in a helicopter to look for the cows. The cow will be my new best friends in a few weeks I think ;)
The good thing is that even when Leonie and I are not staying at the same farm we will see each other every day for lunch and dinner since Jack always goes to his mom to eat! Pretty funny though… Its like driving from Utrecht to Amsterdam twice a day (every day) to have lunch and dinner! And now you are just going to your next door neighbour! Hahaha.
Once a month they have a clubnight where all the farmers come together to have some drinks and talk about what is going on! Haha. It will be good to see some more people once a month!!!
The closest town is Emerald and is about 2 hours from Wharton Creek. We will have no signal on our phone. So no text messages and no phonecalls but we will have a little bit of internet so we can probably check our email and facebook! Please feel free to send me an email (mexbosscha@hotmail.com) since my life there might get pretty lonely so it will be nice to hear some good stories!

Knowing that I will soon be living in a place where are more cows, kangaroos, dingo’s and other animals then people makes me excited and nervous at the same time! Suddenly you appreciate some many things like standing in line and wait to pay for your groceries. Just because you have other people around you and are able to go the shops hahah!
But I am sure it will be an experience that I will never forget and after all… In the end I will have some good money to travel (since there is no way of spending any) and I will get my second year visa which will allow me to stay and work in Australia till march 2016! Can’t wait to finally have time off and go explore Australia!

Alrighty, this was it for today.. Hope you are all doing well and like I said.. Feel fry to send me an email. It will be appreciated!

Hugs and kisses from Sydney,

Mex

  • 17 September 2014 - 08:49

    Elmama:

    Mooi verwoord Mexie
    Het voelt als een soort vervolg afscheid; snik snik
    Maar wat een avontuur weer
    Vergeet niet een beetje internet te gebruiken voor een update!!!!
    God bless lieverd

  • 17 September 2014 - 09:50

    Malleen:

    Mis je nu al! Denk maar aan het melodietje als je er doorheen zit, die werkt altijd

  • 03 Oktober 2014 - 16:51

    BB:

    Hey Mex McCleod!

    Mooie foto's op je FB! Enjoy!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Mex

Actief sinds 11 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 408
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5929

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Maart 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: