Bye bye crazy farm life, hello civilisation! - Reisverslag uit Townsville, Australië van Mex - WaarBenJij.nu Bye bye crazy farm life, hello civilisation! - Reisverslag uit Townsville, Australië van Mex - WaarBenJij.nu

Bye bye crazy farm life, hello civilisation!

Door: Mex

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mex

19 Januari 2015 | Australië, Townsville

I don't know everything but I know this... Life is full of surprises! About 2 weeks ago I had no idea that I would be staying with a great family for a few weeks in Townsville, Queensland right at this moment. I have been in Townsville now for 2 weeks and it has been really great thanks to Karen and the three girls I am staying with! :) Thanks Karen! So at this moment it is even hard for me to keep up with my own life! Its has been over a month that I left my crazy farm life.  In some ways it feels like it is ages ago but at the same time I can not believe how fast the past few weeks went. I spent my first few weeks back in civilisation in Sydney. I had a bit of a culture shock to be honest! So many people, so many things that are happening in one places, its crazy! It even felt weird to dress up a little and put make up on since I didn't even look in the mirror while living at the farm. But it was great to be back and experience a totally different Christmas and New Years because it is Summer here! While being back in the busy city life I sometimes think back about my life at Wharton Creek.. my life far away from everything and everyone. Do I miss it? Yes, some things I really do miss and other things I sure don't.

Life was so simple there. Looking back at it now its shows me that it gives you so much less stress in life. Every day is basicly the same. When you go to bed at night you know exactly what you will be doing the next day, what jobs you got to do, who else will be there, what you will eat etc. You don't have to hurry for anything, you dont have to worry about what to wear or what you look like and your phone is not ringing all the time since you got no reception. Life is simple and quiet. 

Another thing I miss is the fresh air, being outdoors everyday, the beautiful views since there are no buildings to block the way to a beautiful sunset. Skies full of beautiful colours, skies full of amazing stars, skies full of lightning like you have never seen before. Kangaroos, emu's, dingo's, cows, cockatoos, lizzards, snakes, dogs, (wild) cats, (wild) pigs, chickens and so much more. You feel like you are living in a national park and if you ask me.. that was a pretty special experience. 

Things that I dont miss? There are plenty! haha. I dont miss baking 150 cookies a week or stepping in cow poo 10 times a day or having there poo and blood sprayed on me. I don't miss the crazy hot weather when it gets close to 50 degrees everyday and its just to hot to do anything! I don't miss feeling silly for talking to animals since they where often the only ones around haha. I don't miss eating potatoes, carrots and beef for almost 88 days in a row and I sure don't the miss the awkward meals because no one at the table is talking. You'll just sit there at the table for an hour eating your food and the only thing you'll hear is people chewing on their food and 'salt please'. 


What I especially don't miss is how tough my life over there sometimes was for me... because next to all the amazing experiences we got I found it not always easy. We worked 88 days in a row. Having no days of in three months and working 14 hours every day is quite intense and challenging.I only went of the farm twice! We barely had any time for ourselfs and everything we did, we did it for someone else. And don't get me wrong, its fine working and taking care for other people but you need some me-time every now and then. 

Especially when you work and take care for/of others that many hours everyday and you don't get any appreciation at all. Those people don't say thank you and they don't communicate about anything but they expect you to know everything and they will get real mad if you don't. They start yelling at you for things you didn't even do or didn't even know. They won't tell you when you did something right but they will always tell you when you did something wrong. Grandma even started yelling at us for cutting the veggies in a different shape then she is used to or for putting a tablecloth on the table without ironing it first! Crazy! When they did say thank you Leonie and I always looked at each other in amazement haha. 


Given the fact that those where the only people around it was great to have Leonie there with me to stay positive and act a little crazy sometimes! Our highlight of the day was often when we could cook dinner together.. We usually put some music on and danced and sang along and enjoyed a beer and that was just awesome! 


After all I feel so lucky for experiencing this crazy farm life and I will always cherish it in my heart. There is so much more I could tell about my life there since it was really a once in a lifetime experience and I can still be surprised thinking about things that happened there and the people I have met but hopefully one day, I can just tell it face to face! For now I hope it wasn't too depressing but I just wanted to show the real picture!!!


What's next?! At this moment I will stay another week in Townsville before I will meet Leonie and the builders (we met at the farm) in Airlie Beach. Which is 3 hours south from here. I will stay there for a couple of days before Leonie and I are heading back to Sydney to fly to New Zealand on the 31 of January! Leonie and I booked a 30 day tour which will give us the opportunity to explore both north and south Island! I am so excited! After that I will fly back to Sydney on the 3rd of march to pick up my parents from the airport on the 6th!!! They will spend 3,5 weeks with me in Australia and I just can't wait anymore!! :) So lots of things happening in the up coming weeks!


Hope all is well with you!! Please keep me updated too!


Lots of love from 'Straya!


xox



  • 19 Januari 2015 - 14:04

    Anneke:

    Zo leuk om al je verhalen te lezen!

  • 19 Januari 2015 - 21:43

    Elmama:

    Lieve mex wat veel en wat mooi beschreven! !
    Het kwam ook wel even binnen hoe lang je al wegbent. Heerlijk dat we uit kunnen kijken naar maart. Kan niet wachten♡♡♡

  • 20 Januari 2015 - 19:16

    Jolanda En Wout Franken:

    Hoi Mex,
    Leuk verslag!
    Fijn dat "onze" Leonie en jij het samen zo goed kunnen vinden. Op de farm hebben jullie echt steun aan elkaar gehad, begreep ik van Leonie.
    Heel veel plezier samen in Nieuw Zeeland en geniet ervan als jouw ouders er zijn in maart (ik denk nog wel eens aan ons ijskoude dagje uit in "The Blue Mountains") en wij tegelijkertijd Leonie op Schiphol in onze armen kunnen sluiten! Groetjes en misschien tot ziens in Nederland.
    Wout en Jolanda Franken.

  • 30 Januari 2015 - 14:15

    Leo:

    Ooooooh mexie, ik lees het nu pas maar inderdaad, wat was de boerderij een ervaring. Alleen wij twee zullen ooit weten hoe het echt was. En morgen weer een nieuwe (zeeland) hahaha! En wie weet wat we samen nog meer meemaken...you never know! Dikke kus!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Townsville

Mex

Actief sinds 11 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 396
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5921

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Maart 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: