Living the farmers life! - Reisverslag uit Springsure, Australië van Mex - WaarBenJij.nu Living the farmers life! - Reisverslag uit Springsure, Australië van Mex - WaarBenJij.nu

Living the farmers life!

Door: Mex

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mex

25 Oktober 2014 | Australië, Springsure

Wow, where do I start? So much has happened. So many stories to tell! Knowing that everyone is busy and a very long story isn't really appealing to even start reading I will try to make it not too long..

On september the 18th Leonie and I looked at each other asking ourselves.. what on earth are we doing???? Where are we going and what is about to happen? Brave as we are we found our way to the airport and we left Sydney behind. Our first flight was from sydney to brisbane and at the airport we very much enjoyed our 'last' opportunities to eat what ever we wanted.. ohh only thinking of that subway sandwich and the hungry jack meal makes me want to go back in time now ;)

Our flight from brisbane to emerald was pretty special if you ask me. It was a small airplane and there where only 30 passengers. Cause yeah... who needs to go to the middle of nowhere?! After flying above land, and just only land, for 1,5 hours I was really surprised to suddenly see quiet a 'big' city?! There are more people out here then I thought!
Unfortunately the drive to our farm was another 2,5 hours. I knew we would be living far away from everything and I can tell you now we really do.. but only by getting the experience of coming all the way out here yourself will make you realise how remote this is!

The first few days on the farm I was a bit in shock by everything but after being here for 5 weeks now things are getting quiet normal. We work almost 12 hours a day, 7 days a week. Cooking 3 times a day, baking, cleaning, wood chopping, gardening, feeding the cows, chickens, cats and porks but also doing the real cattle work is just part of our daily routine now.
Even the thousands of flies, spiders, mots and other insects can't really bother me anymore. They are just everywhere! In your food, in your shower, in your clothes..I even feel them walking on me when I'm laying in bed.
I guess not just people but also places can change the way you are!

The other day we watched a pig getting killed add prepared for cooking. I didnt really enjoy watching it and seeing the amount of blood spraying out of the body made me feel a bit sick but 20 minutes later I was sitting at the table eating my dinner. Something I would probably never have done during my life while living in the big cities.
Its weird finding yourself being totally fine when the horns and balls of the cows are getting cut off and blood is spraying everywhere and you even have their blood and shit on your hands. If you would have asked me a few months ago if I would be able to do this...I'm not sure if I would have said yes!

Overall I must say I feel pretty lucky to get this experience and to have the opportunity to get to see and know the life of a real australian outback farmersfamily. At the moment I am staying with grandma. Grandma is 88, can be either in an ok mood or in a very grumpy mood and gets through her days by playing games on the computer, her tablet, or watching detectives on Tv unless her daugther (the big boss) comes.. then she's suddenly doing real work on the computer all day long. Its funny.. sometimes I have to go into the office and almost everytime I see grandma playing patience but as soon as she notices me she will click it away or try to hide it.. don't ask me why cause I dont care it just makes me laugh haha sneaky granny!
Grandma was born in Sydney and left the city life behind when she was 21 yrs old. She joined her friend and her friends mom to the outback and I think she fell in love here, got married and never left the outback again.

Leonie is now staying at Jacks which is about 40 minutes away. Jack is the baby of the family (54yrs old). Always wearing flipflops, shorts, no underwear, a shirt which he never closes so he has a nice red belly and always a just-got-of-bed hair look. He is always happy, doesnt talk much and doesnt really care about anything. He comes to grandma's farm almost everyday in the morning and stays till after dinner. Even though they never really talk to each other I think they are pretty close and he is grandma's favourite.

Another person that is a big part of our life now is Kerry.... she is 44 yrs old, loves her 3 dogs and lives in a caravan next to the house which hasnt been cleaned for over 10 years I think. She is always joking (most of the time about sex) and will try to make you laugh. It's good to have her around but in the last few weeks I have seen her butt a bit too often (her shorts are always hanging half way her leggs) and heard her farts and burbs too many times.
We also have keith, the handy man, living in a caravan nearby. Small, skinny lucky luke looking man who talks very very very slow. And every now and then Peter the oldest son comes around. He lives half an hour from here. He is always joking and does all the talking for the family.

During the last few days it is starting to get really hot (36°C) (well.. leonie and I are thinking its hot.. they say its just starting warming up now). Ive always loved the warm weather but not sure if I will still enjoy it here in a few weeks time when it gets around 50°C...... pffffff!

I will end my story with telling my two favorite things on the farm: nr. 1 - the three little kittens who are too cute. They just started to walk and play around and nr. 2 - riding the quads! I still enjoy it everyday even though you have to shower afterwards and you think your clean after scrubbing for half an hour but your still not! :)

Lots of love from the Australian outback,

Mex

  • 25 Oktober 2014 - 15:13

    Pap:

    Ongelooflijk Mex, dit had je in Nederland wsch niet gedaan/gedacht. Vooral het slachten zou ik erg moeilijk vinden, mr ook die castratie. .....mooi verteld van stoute oma.... houd moed in de warmte! Zou graag even kijkje nemen....Wie weet, maart is er maar zo... Xxp

  • 25 Oktober 2014 - 18:40

    Lisette:

    :D zo trots op jou! Knapperd! Ik denk dat de tekst van Frank Sinatra beter past bij de outback dan New York (if you can make it here...), you've done both so thums up! :) dikke knuf!

  • 26 Oktober 2014 - 18:09

    Berto:

    Hahaha, wat ben je toch ook een lekker ding hè. met al die beesten en dat stof overal en nergens ;) . Begin toch maar eens aan een boek schrijven want je typeringen van mensen en je werk zijn hilarisch!
    Hou je taai lieve Mex! Ook op de saaie grumpy dagen! ♡

  • 26 Oktober 2014 - 22:59

    Annelie :

    Geweldig en heerlijk die persoonsbeschrijvingen!!!! Het hele verhaal gaat erdoor leven!! Wat maak je mee sis!! Ongelooflijk! Stond het liefst aan je zijde in al dit lief en leed!! Onwijs, wat een ervaring en dan nu ook nog zien te overleven in die hitte!!! Super trots Hoe je in het avontuur staat, het beschrijft en zo mooi dat je afsluit met je top 2 of favorite things !! Trots op je en genot om je verhaal te lezen!!! Dikke kus en knuffel van Dany en mij!! <3

  • 27 Oktober 2014 - 09:37

    Antoinette:

    Super leuk verhaal!! Hopelijk valt de hitte mee!
    Maar je hebt nu al zoveel avontuur meegemaakt,
    dat je dit ook zeker gaat overleven! ;)
    Super knap!
    Hou je taai meid en tot skypes weer!! :)

    Dikke knuffel An

  • 27 Oktober 2014 - 20:20

    Mam:

    Wow Mex taal vertelt niet alleen maar kan ook schilderen; geen probleem als het de volgende keer langer wordt. Gewoon genieten en er even bij zijn!!!
    Geweldig hoe je je Mexje staat; onvergetelijk!!!

  • 27 Oktober 2014 - 20:21

    Mam:

    dikke knufkus en flinke schouderklop hvj

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Springsure

Mex

Actief sinds 11 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 364
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5922

Voorgaande reizen:

11 Maart 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: